Gaia Impact is an impact investment advisory firm that complies with the guidelines set out in Article 9 of the SFDR regulations and has the status of “entreprise à mission”.

Belief

Energy is at the heart of the challenges and opportunities of tomorrow’s world.
Private-sector expertise and capital are essential to complement public investment programs, to support the development of renewable energies and their productive use in emerging countries, where almost a billion people still have no access to electricity.

Ambition

Lay the foundations for an equitable and inclusive zero-carbon economy, by investing in companies that deploy decentralized renewable energy solutions.

Challenge

A Just Energy Transition that combines economic return with social and environmental impact.
Our action aims to promote the development of clean and affordable energy in order to foster economic growth and reduce inequalities (SDG7, SDG10, SDG13).

GAIA ENERGY IMPACT FUND II ⸻

Key figures

2023

CLOSING DATE

80 M€

TAILLE CIBLE DU FONDS

500 K€ to 5 M€

INVESTMENT FROM

History

Driven by this ambition, in 2017, Hélène Demaegdt, via the Capelan family-office, created the investment company Gaia Impact Fund to act for the energy transition, mainly in sub-Saharan Africa, but also in South East Asia. Gaia Impact Fund has invested over €8 million in a dozen companies (start-ups and SMEs) active in the decentralized renewable energy value chain in rural and urban areas.
With six years of experience and measured impact behind us, we wanted to go one step further with a second fund, following on from the first investment thesis, targeting the full range of solutions for access to clean energy, as well as its productive use.

The Gaia Energy Impact Fund II (GEIF II) was launched in 2023 thanks to a coalition of entrepreneurs, family-offices, companies and institutional investors. GEIF II will be managed by Capital Croissance, an AMF-approved asset management company, while the Gaia Impact team will act as exclusive advisor and drives investments. Schneider Electric and Capelan are the anchor investors of the fund. Investisseurs & Partenaires (I&P) will provide its expertise of the African continent, as well as technical assistance to the Gaia Impact team.

This €80 million VC fund targets communities and businesses with little or no access to electricity. It aims to invest in equity and quasi-equity, with tickets ranging from €500,000 to €5 million, in around twenty companies in the seed or growth phase (seed to series B), mainly in Africa.

GAIA IMPACT ⸻

MANIFESTO

Vision

Unlocking the Transformative Potential of Clean Energy

We recognize the pivotal role that sustainable energy plays in the development of emerging countries, especially in Africa. Innovative, incredibly cost-efficient clean energy models are ready to scale, and hold the key to propelling African economies to their maximum growth potential.

Empowering Entrepreneurs and Communities

Our vision embraces African entrepreneurs as the driving force behind positive change. We invest in entrepreneurs who blend local expertise with global perspectives, forging unique solutions that empower communities and foster lasting transformative growth.

Fostering Collaborative Partnerships

Energy solutions do not work in silos. We believe in the strength of partnerships involving innovators, corporations, governments, and stakeholders. Together, we are constructing an inclusive energy ecosystem that uplifts, sustains, and propels Africa towards a renewable energy future.

Execution

A Platform of Energy Experts

In the intricate landscape of African energy, we are building a team of energy experts. Collective knowledge is leveraged to parse and navigate the complexities of this technology-intensive, capital-intensive sector.

Active Support Across the Investment Lifecycle

As active investors, we provide hands-on support throughout the investment cycle. We work closely with entrepreneurs, offering on-demand strategic and operational resources to catalyze growth and ensure success.

Long-term Commitment and Shared Goals

We are unwavering in our commitment to the long-term success of our investments. As equity partners, we align our interests with those of the entrepreneurs, sharing in challenges and achievements. Together, we embark on a collaborative journey towards sustainable energy solutions.

GAIA IMPACT ⸻

TEAM

Excellence for impact

Gaia Impact brings together a team of experts coming from either the world of entrepreneurship or the world of sustainable finance. Each of them has a detailed knowledge of the African economic landscape and has made the acceleration of the just transition a personal challenge.

Hélène Demaegdt

President & Founder

Entrepreneur with 20 years’ experience in the distribution sector, in 2010 she became shareholder of a large French IPP, and created the Synergie Solaire endowment fund, whose aim is to promote renewable energies as a source of electrification for emerging countries.
In 2017, she created Gaia Impact Fund. Hélène holds a degree in economics, having studied in the USA at Harvard University and in Paris at the Université Paris II-Assas.

Frédéric Pfister

Managing Director

With a background as a consultant and entrepreneur, Frédéric specialized 10 years ago in the development and financing of energy transition projects in emerging countries (Africa and Middle East). Frédéric graduated from HEC Paris.

Guilhem Dupuy

Partner

Guilhem began his career at Ecofi and then joined Crédit Coopératif, where he actively contributed to the development of the impact finance sector. In 2017, he participated in the creation of Gaia Impact. Guilhem graduated from the Ecole Normale Supérieure.

Victor Beulque

Investment Director

Victor has carried out several rural electrification missions in the Philippines and worked as a technical expert for the Synergie Solaire endowment fund. He joined Gaia Impact in 2017. Victor has a dual degree in engineering and business.

Marion Quenolle

Investment Officer

Marion began her career as a financial analyst at KPMG before joining Proparco’s team in Nairobi to work on financing infrastructure and energy projects in East Africa. She joined Gaia Impact in 2022.
Marion graduated fromEM Lyon Business School.

Guillaume Pradat

Senior Analyst

Guillaume began his career with several startup experiences in emerging countries alongside CFOs on fundraising topics. Before joining Gaia Impact in 2019, he also worked as a mid-cap coverage analyst at Société Générale, notably on African subsidiaries of French companies. Guillaume graduated from EM Lyon Business School and the Indian Institute of Management in Calcutta.

Alice Mével

Impact Manager

Alice joined Gaia Impact in 2022 as Impact Manager. Prior to this, she was an analyst at Citizing Consulting, a public policy and investment evaluation firm.
Alongside her operational role at Gaia, Alice is completing a thesis on access to electricity in developing countries and the evaluation of impact investments at the Paris School of Economics. She holds a Master’s degree in Development Economics from the University of Sussex.

GAIA IMPACT ⸻

Impact Reports

Gaia Impact est une société de conseil en investissements à impact répondant aux directives liées à l’article 9 de la réglementation SFDR et disposant du statut d’entreprise à mission.

Notre conviction

L’énergie concentre les défis et les opportunités du monde de demain.
L’expertise et les capitaux du secteur privé sont indispensables en complément des programmes d’investissements publics, pour soutenir le développement des énergies renouvelables et de leur usage productif dans les pays émergents, où près d’un milliard de personnes n’a toujours pas accès à l’électricité.

Notre ambition

Poser les bases d’une économie zéro carbone de manière équitable et inclusive, en investissant dans des entreprises qui déploient des solutions d’énergies renouvelables décentralisées.

L’enjeu

Une Transition énergétique juste qui allie rendement économique, et impact social et environnemental.
Notre action vise à favoriser le développement d’une énergie propre à un coût abordable afin de favoriser la croissance économique et réduire les inégalités (ODD7, ODD10, ODD13).

GAIA ENERGY IMPACT FUND II  ⸻

Chiffres clés

2023

ANNÉE DE CRÉATION DU FONDS

80 M€

TAILLE CIBLE DU FONDS

500 K€ à 5 M€

PAR INVESTISSEMENT

Histoire

C’est animée par cette ambition qu’en 2017, Hélène Demaegdt, via le family-office Capelan, crée la société d’investissement Gaia Impact Fund pour agir pour la transition énergétique, principalement en Afrique subsaharienne, mais aussi en Asie Sud Est. Gaia Impact Fund a investi plus de 8 M€ dans une douzaine d’entreprises (start-ups et PME) actives sur la chaîne de valeur des énergies renouvelables décentralisées dans les zones rurales et urbaines.
Forts de six ans d’expérience et d’impact mesuré, nous avons souhaité aller plus loin avec un second fonds, dans le sillage de la première thèse d’investissement, ciblant l’ensemble des solutions d’accès à une énergie propre, ainsi que son usage productif.

Le fonds Gaia Energy Impact fund (GEIF) voit le jour en 2023 grâce à une coalition d’entrepreneurs, et family-offices, d’entreprises et d’investisseurs institutionnels. La gestion du fonds GEIF II sera assurée par Capital Croissance, société de gestion agréée par l’AMF, tandis que l’équipe Gaia Impact en sera le conseil exclusif. Schneider Electric et Capelan sont investisseurs dans le fonds. Investisseurs & Partenaires apportera son expertise sur les différents pays du continent africain et une assistance technique à l’équipe Gaia Impact.

Ce fonds venture de 80 M€ cible les communautés et les entreprises non ou mal desservies par les réseaux électriques. Il a vocation à investir, en fonds propres et quasi-fonds propres, des tickets de 500 000€ à 5 M€ dans une vingtaine d’entreprises en phase d’amorçage ou de croissance (série seed à série B), majoritairement en Afrique.

GAIA IMPACT  ⸻

PHILOSOPHIE

Vision

Libérer le potentiel de transformation des énergies renouvelables

Nous reconnaissons le rôle crucial que jouent les énergies renouvelables dans le développement des pays émergents, notamment en Afrique. Des modèles d'énergie propre innovants et économiques sont prêts à passer à l'échelle, et sont la clé pour propulser les économies africaines vers leur plein potentiel de croissance.

Soutenir les entrepreneurs et les communautés

Les entreprises et entrepreneurs africains sont les inlassables acteurs du progrès. Nous soutenons des entrepreneurs qui combinent expertise locale et perspectives globales pour forger des solutions uniques, au service des communautés, et servir une croissance économique durable.

Favoriser la collaboration entre acteurs

Les solutions énergétiques ne fonctionnent pas en vase clos. Nous croyons en la force des partenariats entre innovateurs, entreprises, financeurs, gouvernements et autres parties prenantes. Ensemble, nous entendons construire un écosystème énergétique inclusif visant à propulser l’Afrique vers un avenir énergétique renouvelable et durable.

Exécution

Une plateforme d’experts en énergie

Dans le paysage complexe de l’énergie africaine, nous construisons une équipe d’experts en énergie. La connaissance collective est mise à profit pour analyser et naviguer dans les complexités de ce secteur à forte intensité technologique et capitalistique.

Un soutien actif tout au long du cycle d’investissement

En tant qu’investisseurs actifs, nous fournissons un accompagnement stratégique tout au long du cycle d’investissement. Nous travaillons en étroite collaboration avec les entrepreneurs, offrant des solutions stratégiques et opérationnelles sur-mesure dans le but de catalyser et accélérer la croissance des entreprises.

Un engagement à long terme et des objectifs communs

Nous avons à cœur le succès des entreprises du secteur. En tant qu’actionnaire, nos intérêts sont alignés sur ceux des entrepreneurs et nous partageons ainsi défis et réussites. Ensemble, nous collaborons sur le long terme vers des solutions énergétiques durables.

GAIA IMPACT  ⸻

ÉQUIPE

L’excellence au service de l’impact

Gaia Impact réunit une équipe d’experts dont chaque membre est issu soit du monde de l’entrepreneuriat, soit du monde de la finance durable. Chacun d’entre eux a une connaissance fine du tissu économique africain et a fait de l’accès à une transition juste un challenge personnel.

Hélène Demaegdt

Présidente & Fondatrice

Chef d’entreprise depuis 20 ans de PME du secteur de la distribution, elle devient en 2010 actionnaire d’une entreprise productrice d’énergie renouvelable, et crée le fonds de dotation Synergie Solaire dont l’objet est de promouvoir les énergies renouvelables comme source d’électrification pour les pays émergents.
En 2017, elle crée Gaia Impact Fund. Hélène est diplômée d’économie après des études aux USA à l’Université d’Harvard et à Paris à l’Université Paris II-Assas.

Frédéric Pfister

Directeur Général

Fort d’une expérience de consultant et d’entrepreneur, Frédéric s’est spécialisé il y a 10 ans dans le développement et le financement de projets liés à la transition énergétique dans des pays émergents (Afrique et Moyen-Orient). Frédéric est diplômé de HEC Paris.

Guilhem Dupuy

Directeur Associé

Guilhem débute sa carrière à Ecofi puis il rejoint ensuite le Crédit Coopératif, où il contribue activement au développement du secteur de la finance d’impact. En 2017, il participe à la création de Gaia Impact. Guilhem est diplômé de l’Ecole Normale Supérieure.

Victor Beulque

Directeur d'Investissement

Victor a réalisé plusieurs missions d’électrification rurale aux Philippines et a travaillé en tant qu’expert technique pour le fonds de dotation Synergie Solaire. Il rejoint Gaia Impact en 2017. Victor est diplômé d’une double formation en ingénierie et en commerce.

Marion Quenolle

Chargée d'investissement

Marion commence sa carrière en tant qu’analyste financier chez KPMG avant de rejoindre les équipes de Proparco à Nairobi pour travailler sur le financement de projets d’infrastructures et d’énergie en Afrique de l’Est. Elle rejoint Gaia Impact en 2022.
Marion est diplômée de l’EM Lyon Business School.

Guillaume Pradat

Analyste senior

Guillaume a débuté sa carrière avec plusieurs expériences en startup dans des pays émergents aux cotés des CFO sur les sujets de levées de fonds. Avant d’intégrer les équipes de Gaia Impact en 2019, il a également travaillé en tant qu’analyste coverage mid-cap à la Société Générale, notamment sur des filiales africaines de sociétés françaises. Guillaume est diplômé de l’EM Lyon Business School et de l’Institut Indien de Management de Calcutta.

Alice Mével

Responsable impact

Alice a rejoint Gaia Impact en 2022 en tant que Responsable impact. Avant cela, elle était analyste chez Citizing Consulting, cabinet d’évaluation de politiques et investissements publics.
En parallèle de son rôle opérationnel chez Gaia, Alice réalise une thèse portant sur l’accès à l’électricité dans les pays en voie de développement et l’évaluation des investissements à impact à l’Ecole d’Economie de Paris (Paris School of Economics). Elle est titulaire d’un master en Economie du Développement de l’Université du Sussex.

GAIA IMPACT  ⸻

Rapports d’impact